Log in

There's a lot going on "Out In NWRA Country"!

NWRA 2023 Annual Conference and Leadership Forum

On November 8–10 over 260 registrants and guests converged onto the Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas, for the 92nd NWRA Annual Conference and Leadership Forum to discuss NWRA’s 2024 priorities and hear from policy experts and leaders.

During the event, the NWRA Board of Directors met to approve the 2024 budget, and to elect  2024 board officers  including Craig Simpson as President, Clay Scott as Vice President, and Paul Arrington as Treasurer.

The association also took the opportunity to recognize eight individuals for their contributions to the association and the water community it represents. Award categories and honorees are listed immediately below.

Distinguished Service Award

Samantha Barncastle Salopek

Lifetime Acheivement Award

James Broderick  |  Rick Dieker  |  Charles Freeman  |  David Reynolds

Water Statesman Award

Tanya Trujillo  |  Keil Weaver

James W. Trull President's Award

Dale Nellor

NWRA 2023 Western Water Seminar

On August 2–4 the NWRA Western Water Seminar was held in Medora, North Dakota. 

With the Theodore Roosevelt National Park as a backdrop, conference attendees had the opportunity to exchange ideas, learn, network, and enjoy the fellowship of colleagues.

In addition to participating in caucus and committee meetings, attendees heard from a great lineup of speakers and had the opportunity to participate in a North Dakota Water Tour hosted by the North Dakota Water Users Association.

Thank you to all who attended and particularly to our wonderful North Dakota Water User Association hosts!

Arkansas Valley Conduit Update

The Bureau of Reclamation and its state and local partners held a groundbreaking ceremony in Pueblo, Colorado on April 28 for the Arkansas Valley Conduit. 

As of August 3, the first pipe sections of the 130-Mike Arkansas Valley Conduit in southeastern Colorado have now been placed in the ground.   The project will deliver safe drinking water to more than 50,000 people.  The Bureau of Reclamation recently awarded $100 million from the bipartisan infrastructure bill to the project following a $60 million award in 2022.

NWRA 2023 Policy Conference Highlights

More than one hundred participants attended the NWRA Policy Conference in Washington, DC April 17–19 to hear from policy experts and meet with federal officials on topics important to the water community. The event kicked-off with a welcome reception on the evening of April 17, followed by speaker sessions the following two mornings. Throughout the three days, NWRA members crisscrossed Washington, DC meeting with their congressional delegations, congressional committee staff, and federal agency officials. During the two speaker sessions topics including cybersecurity, the farm bill, food safety, appropriations, and infrastructure funding were discussed. Attendees also received updates on the latest activities and priorities at the Department of the Interior and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. We wish to thank everyone for making the trip to Washington and making the conference a huge success! Please be sure to mark your calendars for next year’s NWRA Policy Conference scheduled for April 8–10, 2024


Privacy Policy


Code of Conduct


Phone 202.698.0693


4 E Street SE, Washington, DC 20003


Copyright © NWRA 2022-2023

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software